Talking about the world

Japanese music: there is always something new to discover

I’ve been listening to japanese music for a long time, starting at middle school where I spent a lot of my time watching anime, from that I discovered J-pop. Then I found out more artists and bands from different times and genres. I realized there is a whole new world of music in this country.

Not long ago I watched a video essay about Japanese music. What I understood from that is that in Japan people like to consume their own music and their industry is gigantic, but for a long time the media was hard to massively distribute and that made it more difficult for people outise of Japan to find out about their music (or any other non mainstream music from other countries to be honest). Now that we have the internet we can find music we never thought about, independent artists or old music that would be forgotten otherways.

Like a month ago YouTube started to recommend an album from SATELLITE LOVERS, it became very popular in a short amount of time. It's funny how old music is reviving and making it to the top. I also lisented this band thanks to the algorithm of youtube and while reading the comments I found people recommending other old japanese bands, which I give an opportunity to and they are good!. After discovering so much good music I started to think that I have a long way in my japanese music journey and would definitely be so much fun.

One band that I discovered through the comments of satellite lover’s album was The CHANG, yesterday I searched for them again and found a topic channel with their albums, right now I’m listening to DAY OFF and is awesome, jazz influence and very groovy songs.

#music