Talking about the world

My favorite Bach performance

There are some performances I can't stop coming back to and today I'll talk about Bach - Violin Partita no.2. πŸ”— I know, the name it's not very interesting (like many classical music names) but give a little credit to Bach, he composed a lot of music, you can't make pretty names for all of them.

Well, Sato's recording is my favorite for this piece, he simply plays Bach like no one. When I hear him I feel like I've traveled in time and if I close my eyes I can imagine being in a church in the 1700's. He has a great musicality and his dynamics add lots of emotions to the music. In his face you can see the focus and the intention in every bow, this is how mastery looks like.

I even tried to learn the first 2 movements of this piece years ago, and let me tell you it's hard! (it's bach after all). After attemtimg to play I can stop myself from admiring Sato.

I know that everyone feels the music in different ways, but how is it that everyone it's just sitting without moving even a litte bit? If I were there I would at least be tapping my feet or head banging πŸ˜‚. The music it's very intense in some parts that I can't help but move, similar to hearing an amazing guitar riff in a rock song.

I hope to make more reviews like this in the future, it’s fun.

#classical #music #review